Region 4-B
Region IV-B, also known as MIMAROPA, is located at the heart of the archipelago and is dubbed as the "Treasure Trove of Southern Luzon".  The region's name is an acronym that stands for its provinces, which are Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental, MArinduque, Romblon, and Palawan.  There are two cities - Calapan and Puerto Princesa - and 71 municipalities in the entire region.

The region was created on 17 May 2002, dividing Region IV in to Regions IV-A and IV-B, which was envisioned to result in a more equitable distribution of wealth and spur countryside development in MIMAROPA.

The heart of the archipelago beats with a distinct sound of its own. Music is the sound of marble being sculpted into art pieces while buntal is woven into colorful cloth.  As the music plays, its people feast on its basket full of bananas, cashew, mango, and others.

With the pride in the indigenous raw materials and local skills and talents of MIMAROPA, the DTI showcases their One Town, One Product (OTOP-Philippines) program to the local and international markets.

MIMAROPA is envisioned as the food basket for the country and a haven for tourism, industry, and technology.

Most recently, the roll-on roll-off (RO-RO) inter-island shipping lane received a big boost when the Strong Republic Nautical Highway (SRNH) was launched. The RO-RO transport system is aimed to bridge the islands and open new markets in the areas of trade and tourism. MIMAROPA is envisioned to serve as part of the backbone of the country’s RO-RO network.
Thursday, April 17, 2014 3:04AM GMT+8

Need Help?

DTI Call Center

(+632) 751.3330

(+63917) 834.3330

MSME Assistance


Export Assistance

(+632) 465.3300

Investment Assistance

(+632) 895.8322

Office Hours : (GMT+8) 8:00AM - 5:00PM Monday to Friday

Copyright © 2008 Department of Trade and Industry. All Rights Reserved.
Unique page views  25660