Region 12
Region 12 has a total land area of 19,196.57 sq. km., which is about 18.5% of the total land area of Mindanao. The region is composed of four provinces - North Cotabato, South Cotabato, Sarangani Province, and Sultan Kudarat - and five cities - Koronadal, Tacurong, General Santos, Kidapawan, and Cotabato.

It is endowed with rich natural resources and has the potential of becoming one of the fastest growing regional economies in the country. The provinces of South Cotabato, Sarangani, Sultan Kudarat, and General Santos City (SOCSKSARGEN) had been provided with modern infrastructure support under the SOCSKSARGEN Area Development Project. Meanwhile, the province of Cotabato and neighboring provinces are recipients of the Malitubog-Maridagao Irrigation Project. All these initiatives were meant to support agricultural activities in the region as a major food supplier to domestic and export markets. The cities of Cotabato and General Santos serve as the region’s major financial, business, institutional, education, and service centers.

Major Exports
  • Fresh/Canned/Frozen tuna
  • Other fish products
  • Fresh/Canned pineapples
  • Frozen octopus/shrimps
  • Fresh bananas
  • Coconut/Crude/Cochin-type coconut oil
  • Copra pellets
  • Cutflowers, asparagus, and okra
  • Abaca pulp
  • Garments
  • Aquaculture products
  • Gifts and houseware products


Friday, April 18, 2014 8:21AM GMT+8

Need Help?

DTI Call Center

(+632) 751.3330

(+63917) 834.3330

MSME Assistance


Export Assistance

(+632) 465.3300

Investment Assistance

(+632) 895.8322

Office Hours : (GMT+8) 8:00AM - 5:00PM Monday to Friday

Copyright © 2008 Department of Trade and Industry. All Rights Reserved.
Unique page views  34229